Las Vegas Nevada DMV Demerit Point System
Here is a list of Nevada traffic violations, showing the demerit points that are assigned to your driving record or DMV report in Nevada.
|Careless Driving||6||1 – 10 mph over posted limit||1|
|Failure to give information or render aid at the scene of an accident||6||11 – 20 mph over posted limit||2|
|Following too closely||4||21 – 30 mph over posted limit||3|
|Failure to yield right-of-way||4||31 – 40 mph over posted limit||4|
|Passing a school bus when signals are flashing||4||41 mph or more over posted limit||5|
|Hand-held cellphone use or texting (new)|
(2nd and subsequent offenses)
|4||Prima Facie speed violation or driving too fast for the conditions||2|
|Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign||4||See Violation Codes for a complete list|
of offenses and points.
|Impeding traffic, driving too slowly||2|
|Failure to dim headlights||2|
Out of State Drivers: Due to the compact court system in the United States it’s important to handle Nevada traffic violations you receive. The DMV points may accumulate on your home states driving record and your license may be suspended if you do not pay the fine. In addition to this, fines may be sent to collections which may ultimately affect your credit report.
Commercial Driver License: There are additional penalties for some Nevada traffic violations for commercial drivers and additional demerit points may be assigned. If you are a commercial driver it’s more important than ever to win your Las Vegas traffic ticket to keep your CDL clean and keep your job.
If you receive 3 or more demerit points in the state of Nevada you will receive a notification in the mail from the Nevada DMV (Driver’s License Review)
If you accumulate 3 to 11 demerit points in Nevada, you may complete a Nevada DMV- approved traffic safety course to remove 3 demerit points (Only if the course is not part of a plea-bargain agreement with a court of law.)
If you receive 12 or more demerit points in any 12-month period, your driver license will automatically be suspended for a period of 6 months. You should be mailed a certified letter before your license is suspended and have the right to a hearing through the Office of Administrative Hearings.
All convictions in Nevada remain part of your permanent driving record, however demerit points for a violation are deleted after 12 months has elapsed from the date of conviction.
Major traffic offenses such as DUI, death or substantial bodily harm are not assigned demerit points. These offenses result in automatic suspension or revocation of your driver’s license.