Las Vegas DUI Lawyer
Driving Under the influence (DUI) in Las Vegas
DUI Charge? Have You Been Caught Drinking And Driving In Las Vegas?
Call 1 702 425 2265 to set up your FREE DUI Consultation with one of our lawyers today
Las Vegas Traffic Tickets work with some of the best DUI lawyers in Las Vegas that focus on and fight DUI charges.
Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI) is a serious offense, carrying harsh penalties, hefty fines, and a negative impact on your driving record. Although the penalties are intimidating, it’s important to remember that retaining an experienced Las Vegas lawyer is imperative to help keep YOU from a DUI conviction!
Illegal Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) Limits in Nevada:
- 0.02% for Drivers under 21 years of age
- 0.04% for CDL holders
- 0.08% for Drivers 21 years of age and older
The Seven Major Penalties You Will Face If You Plead Guilty To A Nevada DUI:
Jail Time/Community Service: If you are convicted of a DUI in Nevada you may have to serve time in jail, or you will be required to serve the equivalent jail time via community service.
Criminal Status: If you are convicted of a DUI in Nevada you will have criminal status, which can affect you in several ways:
- A negative impact on your current employment or future job interviews;
- Travelling abroad to certain countries;
- Negative impact on any background checks.
Fines: Depending on the amount of DUI offenses within a period of seven (7) years, you may have to pay fines from at least $400 and up to $2000 or more! SAVE by hiring Las Vegas Traffic Tickets to fight your DUI charge!
Alcohol Programs/Substance Abuse Treatments: You will have to attend and complete a state approved program often referred to as a DUI Class. The costs of DUI classes will be paid by you to the program – usually a charge of $150+!
Suspension of Driving Privileges: If you are arrested for a DUI in Nevada, you will face a license suspension of ninety (90) days or more. Depending on whether this is a first offense, you may be able to apply for a restricted license to drive to and from work after forty-five (45) days of the suspension has passed.
Ignition Interlock Device: A first offense DUI with a BAC of 0.18% or higher will be required to install an
IID in their vehicle; the IID will remain for 3 to 6 months.
Skyrocketing Insurance Rates: If you are convicted of a Nevada DUI it not only negatively impacts your driving record, but can cause raised insurance premiums – another cost you’ll have to bear if you don’t get help and fight your DUI case!
The consequences for driving under the influence change depending on whether or not a prior DUI conviction exists on your record anywhere within the last seven years. If there were minors under the age of 15 in your car at the time you were arrested, it will be considered an “aggravating circumstance,” and will result in harsher penalties.
The DMV will suspend your license if you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI). To get your license reinstated after the license suspension and the court imposed suspension have elapsed, you
are required to a) pay all fines and fees and b) retake vision, written, and possibly the skills test.
Potential Penalties for a Las Vegas DUI:
First Offense DUI
Your drivers license revoked for 90 days; after 45 days, you may be eligible to apply for a restricted license that only allows you to drive to and from your workplace.
You may receive a jail sentence of at least two days and not exceeding six months, or 96 hours of community service.
Mandatory DUI classes, an extra cost of $150 or more!
You may or may not be required to attend a substance abuse program in addition to your mandatory DUI classes.
Bail Fines from $400 up to $1000.
Second Offense DUI
Your drivers license will be revoked for 1 year, and you will NOT be eligible for a restricted license. Jail sentence or home confinement for at least 10 days and up to 6 months.
Possible suspension of car registration. Bail fines from $750 and up to $1,000!
You may or may not have to attend a substance abuse treatment program or undergo clinical supervision up to 1 year.
One hundred to two hundred hours of community service.
Third Offense DUI
Your drivers license will be revoked for three years. Depending on the circumstances, you may or may not be eligible for a restricted license.
Prison sentence from one year and up to six years. Bail fines between $2,000 and $5,000!
Possible suspension of car registration.
DUI Causing Death or Injury
You will have your drivers license revoked for three years. Prison sentence from two years up to twenty (20) years. Fines ranging from $2,000 to $5,000.
CDL Driver DUI
A CDL driver operating a commercial motor vehicle in the state of Nevada and while under the influence of drugs, alcohol (with a blood alcohol concentration of .04% or higher), an intoxicant, or refusing to submit to a chemical test will be arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI). If you are arrested for a DUI, your CDL will be revoked for one (1) year after conviction of a first offense violation.
If you were hauling hazardous materials at the time of your arrest, your CDL will automatically be revoked for three (3) years.
If you are convicted of a second offense DUI, it will result in a permanent CDL violation – you will never be permitted to drive or operate a commercial motor vehicle in the future.
If you are a CDL driver with a BAC of 0.04% or less, you will be issued an “out of service,” notice and be forbidden to drive for the next twenty-four hours.
DUI Under 21 Years of Age
For a first offense violation with a BAC between 0.02% and 0.08%, your license may be suspended or revoked for ninety (90) days. You will be required to attend an alcohol assessment and treatment program approved by the state and issued by the court.
If you are convicted of a second or subsequent DUI and still under the age of 21, your license will be suspended for a length of time determined by the Nevada DMV.
If an individual 21 years of age or less is arrested for a DUI with a BAC of 0.08% or more, they will face the same penalties as an individual 21 years of age or older.
The Implied Consent Law
The Implied Consent Law dictates that getting into a vehicle while under the influence of drugs and alcohol implies your consent to submit to BAC testing. If you resist, law enforcement can either arrest you immediately or exercise reasonable force.
The Open Container Law
The Open Container Law dictates that it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with an opened alcoholic beverage anywhere in the cab. Passenger areas of buses, taxis, limousines, and the living areas of an RV or motor home are exceptions to this law.
The Illegal Per Se Law
The Illegal Per Se Law states that driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above the legal limit is an offense by itself. Because BAC limits are only a guide, you can still be cited or arrested for having a lower amount of alcohol in your system.